Advocacy News

 

BOE Meeting Minutes

The Ridgefield Council of PTA's provides recaps of all BOE meetings.  You can go to the site by clicking here.

 

School Start Times

 

September 27 – Survey was sent out to parents and RHS students regarding certain
school start time scenarios.  If you did not receive your survey, please email Dr. Miller (rmiller@ridgefieldps.net)

 

September 25, 7:30pm (BOE Annex) – Board of Education Meeting

 

October 10, 7:30pm (BOE Annex) – Board of Education Meeting

 

October 16, 7:00pm (ERMS) - Special Board of Education Meeting for School Start Times

 

October 23, 7:30pm (BOE Annex) – Board of Education Meeting – at this meeting, the
Board is scheduled to decide which school start time scenario to implement for the
2018-19 school year; the BOE could decide not to change start times and to maintain
the status quo; the selected start time structure will be incorporated into the proposed
2018-19 budget upon which all taxpayers will vote in May.


WHAT SHOULD PARENTS DO?
It is important that parents inform themselves about the school start time discussion.
• Review the RPS School Start Time Project webpage and linked materials (link
above).
• Attend or watch upcoming BOE meetings. You can follow the meetings online
(http://www.ridgefield.org/Board_of_Education) or via Twitter @RidgefieldPS,
#ridgefieldBOE and #ridgefieldps.


If parents wish to have their opinions heard, they should attend the
October 10, October 16, and/or October 23 BOE meetings and speak during the public comment
period. Parents can also email the members of the BOE to share their views. The
emails are listed below. A high participation rate for the survey is crucial. Parents should complete the survey promptly, completely and honestly. If there is a free response option provided, parents
should share their specific feedback there.

 

 

Ridgefield Public Schools–Board of Education Contact Info:

Frances Walton (BOE Chair): fwalton@ridgefield.org

James Keidel (Vice Chair): jkeidel@ridgefield.org

Michael Taylor (Secretary): mtalylor@ridgefield.org

Stephanie Bell: sbell@ridgefield.org

David Cordisco: dcordisco@ridgefield.org

Tracy O’Connor: toconnor@ridgefield.org

Douglas Silver: dsilver@ridgefield.org

Sharon D’Orso: sdorso@ridgefield.org

Margaret Stamatis: mstamatis@ridgefieldps.net

 

Upcoming Events 

 
 

Weekly Eblasts

Create an account and subscribe to receive our weekly blasts. 

SUBSCRIBE

 

Join the ERMS PTA and support our mission!

The East Ridge Middle School PTA helps foster communication between the parent and school communities.  It provides resources for classroom enrichment, extracurricular activities and helps to build a positive social environment for students.  We are a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.